Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

World3 Model in OM and first steps

World3 Model in OM and first steps

Hello Community,

I am very new to programming and to the OM software.
My "simple" goal is to run an existing World3 System Dynamics Model. To be precise, this file:
https://www.modelica.org/libraries/Syst … leases/2.0

How do I integrate it into the software?

I also have problems getting started with OM. I downloaded the newest version of OM, but I am not even able to start the software. There are different folders in the extracted package, but no application starts the software. When I start "OMC" nothing happens apart from the "black DOS input window" appearing for 2 seconds.

Can anybody help me?

Thank you very much!

Best regards, Chris

Re: World3 Model in OM and first steps

It sounds like you are using Windows. Doesn't the application install the OMShell shortcut? Anyway, the model seems to run, but I guess there is some problem with initialization because the following commands gave a life expectancy of 0.0 for all values.

Code:

loadModel(Modelica);

loadFile("SystemDynamics.mo");
getClassNamesRecursive(SystemDynamics);
res:=simulate(SystemDynamics.WorldDynamics.World3.Life_Expectancy,
    startTime=1900,stopTime=2200,outputFormat="mat");
s:=res.resultFile;
readSimulationResultVars(s);getErrorString();
1900;val(life_expectancy,1900);getErrorString();
1950;val(life_expectancy,1950);getErrorString();
1990;val(population,1990);getErrorString();
2000;val(life_expectancy,2000);getErrorString();
2010;val(life_expectancy,2010);getErrorString();

Thank you very much for your reply.
Yes, it extracted the OMShell shortcut, but it says that MSVCP100.dll is missing. I am using Windows indeed.

How would I fix the problem that you mentioned?