Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

Using external libraries to impletement communication base on socket

Using external libraries to impletement communication base on socket

Hi all,
Sorry for my poor english.
I am new to Modelica & Openmodelica. I want to use my c++ program to communicate with modelica program during simulation runtime on windows. I write a socket program which includes a .c file and a.h file and generate a .o file using gcc. Then i call the functions writen in .c file in the modelica program. But there are some errors when i do the simulation.
My problem is: how can i call socket function writen by c using external c?
Can some one help me on this problem?
Thanks & Regards

Re: Using external libraries to impletement communication base on socket

It's hard to tell without seeing some code or error messages, but here goes:

function myExt
external "C" ... = myExt(...) annotation(Library = "myExt.o"); // Note the required .o, not present in Dymola... We really should fix this
end myExt;

model A
  TypeA myType = myExt(...);
end A;

myExt.cpp:

... C++ code ...

extern "C" { /* Export the function as if it was a C function */
... myExt (...) {
}
}

Thanks for your reply. I tried the simple example using external libraries according to openmodelica user guide and that was successful. Now i try to using modelica program call the external socket function, and there are many problem about it. i post the related file in attachment, and then i will describe my mind in detail.
1.i write a .c file which contains a simple socket function called startUP(). the .c file called my_start.c and it includes <winsock2.h> because it uses socket.