Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

Interfacing OpenModelica

Interfacing OpenModelica

Hi everyone,

I am new to OpenModelica but I will try not to make to many mistakes about it.

So I would like to know if there is an already existing way to communicate with OpenModelica but from an another software.
I will explain. I have seen that there is a way to import C code inside Modelica but this is a static method.

I would like to send some udp packet or else from my software (here a rock-orocos project) TO openModelica, to change some very simple inputs as a value of a resistor for example.

And the good thing also will be to have the same kind of link the other way around !

Thanks to the comunity

regards

V.v

Re: Interfacing OpenModelica

Write an example session of what you would like to do. To me it's not clear if you want to communicate with a running OpenModelica simulation or simply set some values and start a simulation.

Actually what I want to achieve is that I would like that all this softwares are running at the same time, and exchange informations.
I would like to test for example the control laws in my Orocos software and send these values to a running OpenModelica model of a motor and get a value back from my OpenModelica model  to my Orocos software.
See the schematic attached http://hpics.li/ae2012c

Yeah, you will need to write your own code in external C functions. Depending on what you want, you either sample the system at certain intervals and exchange information. Or you have something that calculates the value in every time step.

inValue = getFromOrocos(...);
outValue = f(inValue, ...); // 1 or more equations
sendToOrocos(outValue, ...);

Hello sjoelund.se

In my case there is a main GUI program that: