Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

OpenModelica user guide

OpenModelica user guide

Hello,

I am brand new to OpenModelica, got IT to download and install v1.9.0 beta 2 on my machine (Windows XP) as I don't have admin rights. The first thing I noticed is that there weren't any shortcuts created on my desktop or a program group in the start menu. So I created my own shortcuts on the desktop to OMEdit, OMNotebook, OMPlot and OMVisualize (from C:\OpenModelica1.9.0\bin). I assume it's OK to do that.

When I tried to double-click on OMEdit, I got the following error message:
"Could not find environment variable OPENMODELICAHOME. Please make sure OpenModelica is installed properly"

Because I don't have admin rights, I can't create any system variables, but I created a user variable OPENMODELICAHOME and set it to C:\OpenModelica1.9.0. That seemed to fix the problem. I am also able to open OMNotebook. I haven't tried the other programs.

I can't seem to find any documentation for OpenModelica (at least in that release). Is there a user guide or a getting started guide available? I am aware of DrModelica, which I intend to go through. Are there any other resources?

Thanks in advance,

Arnaud

Re: OpenModelica user guide

There should be some pdf's that come with the windows builds. Try to look in share/doc/omc/. OMEdit knows where to look for its documentation (F1, or Help->User manual).

Hi,

Try install only for me, not for all users and it should work even with a non-admin user.

Cheers,
Adrian Pop/

sjoelund.se wrote:

There should be some pdf's that come with the windows builds. Try to look in share/doc/omc/. OMEdit knows where to look for its documentation (F1, or Help->User manual).

Thanks, much appreciated.

adrpo wrote:

Hi,