Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

Fluid system

Fluid system

Hello,

I build the attached fluid system. However it is extremely slow or does not converge at all. When removing the pipe called "Schlauch" then it works nicely.
Can somebody explain why or how to circumvent this?
Does it have to do with modelStructure?

Another question: As I am not interested in temperatures, is it possible to neglect energy balance equation? Furthermore I don't need two-phase material, nor do I need compressibility of the water? So, if that helps to make the model more stable how can I achieve this?
(I tried to change the medium from StandardWater to StandardWaterOnePhase or even ConstantPropertyLiquid, but none worked due to initialization issues)

I am a real beginner and hope somebody can light me up how all these things work together.

Regards Steffen

Re: Fluid system

Test.mo

Attachments:

I would say that you are doing fine. It seems to me a convergence problem due to the sudden change in flow. The problem disappears if you change the frequency up or down, no problem at 100 Hz nor at 5 Hz. It disappears also increasing the damper volume to 3e-4 m3.
I do not understand why you are declaring your Sinus block inside Modelica.Blocks.
I have needed to add the full path to Sinus and Sine inside the System7 model in order to make it runnable.

Regards

Carlos

I wrote my own Sinus block as I want to enlarge the model after it runs stable and need the startTime parameter that I found is buggy in the Modelica.Blocks sine routine, i.e. I want the value at time<startTime to be identical to the value at startTime (as I use the parameter phase also), see attached file test.mo.
But I think that's not the point (or do I understand you wrong?)