Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register
  • Index
  • » Users
  • » jayahoharish

I have a load attached to a battery model. I am trying to count the number of charging/discharging cycles the battery is going through. PNet is the power flowing through the battery (positive for discharging and negative for charging).
I write the following and I always get the following errors.
1. It is not allowed to use pre for a continuous time variable outside a when clause
2. The when-condition must be a discrete expression:

I am completely new to programming and Modelica. So, can someone explain when pre() can be used?

For example if PNet is changing continuously with time, can I ever get a value of pre(PNet)?
And if I can somehow get this, can I use this to build "if" or "when" expressions?

I have a load attached to a battery model. I am trying to count the number of charging/discharging cycles(cn) the battery is going through and the depth of discharge of each cycle. PNet is the power flowing through the battery (positive for discharging and negative for charging).

I have given a start value of 0 to cn and I want to keep counting the number of cycles.

I have tried to write the following but nothing works:

when PNet == 0 and PNet <> pre(PNet) then
  cn = pre(cn)+1;
end when;

or

cn = if der(PNet)=0 then pre(cn)+1 else cn

I keep getting mostly the following 2 errors:
1. 1. It is not allowed to use pre for a continuous time variable outside a when clause

Can anyone help me with this?

May-21-19 16:41:13
Can pre() be used in continuous time variables?