Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

New User Questions

New User Questions

I am fairly new to OpenModelica, so I am just trying things out to get things going.  I have run into two different problems, and I decided to just put them together into one message, to see if anyone has any suggestions.

1) I have OMEdit running fine, and I am trying to work with some of the examples.  The problem is that I can't change any values for any of the parameters.  I am guessing that it is because the examples are installed without write permission.  So, I tried copying one of the examples over to a user directory, and then importing it.  But that didn't work, since the original example was already loaded, so I got an error.  So, my main question is how can I edit the examples to help understand them better?  Is there a way to just duplicate an example, so I can make edits?  I also tried just selecting all the blocks, doing a copy, then creating a new model and pasting.  But that didn't work either.  I just would like a version of the examples, that I can easily modify, to help learn from them.

2)  I am running on a Mac.  I was able to install fine using Macports to get the openmodelica_devel working.  I have even done an upgrade, or two that were successfull.  But, for the last few days, the nightly releases have failed to update successfully.  Perhaps it is just something that is wrong in the newest few nightlys, but I wanted to just see if anyone else is having this problem, or has any suggestions?

Thanks,

Re: New User Questions

Maybe try?

Code:

model M extends Modelica...Examples.XXX; end M;

Hi,
I'm also trying to edit/change examples in OMEdit.

Code:

//within Modelica.Fluid.Examples;

model HeatingSystem "Simple model of a heating system"