Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

trouble with medium and connections

trouble with medium and connections

Hi,

im new with Modelica and some things i cant get to run and i Dont know why.

I want to simulate an Air Conditioning therefore i want to use the medium MoistAir but i dont know where exaktly i need to declare the medium. I found, that the ambient (source block) in Thermal has the parameter Medium but as far as i can see, its not working correctly. Is MoistAir broken like the library medium.air and if so how to work around this?
And if im not mistaken its nesseary to have a Ambient block at beginning of the Medium and at the end. Where do i define the Medium? just Input or both?

Another Question i have is: how can i get variables valued from connectors all the courses dont use connection with medium and the thermal examples dont comment well on that matter.

hope you can help me with my Questions

Re: trouble with medium and connections

is my question too difficult, is it the wrong place in the forum or is this forum just dead?

i solved my connection problem myself but my question regarding medium.air.moistair is still unsolved ... can anybody explain if the medium.air is usable or bugged.

You mentioned Medium in the title, so I won't even bother reading the body text

WOW,

didnt expect that answer. Whats the deal? does nobody use Medium?

People do. I just don't understand it.

The issue seems to be that there are different definitions of what a medium is. The Modelica.Media package in the MSL uses packages extended from Modelica.Media.InterfacesPartialMedium as medium, while Thermal instead uses records extended from Modelica.Thermal.FluidHeatFlow.Media.Medium. Same name, but very different things.