Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

Change Class "replaceable"

Change Class "replaceable"

I'm new to OpenModelica as well as Modelica itself. I want to use the VehicleInterfaces library, but the documentation is rather short and specific to application in Dymola.
For the Tutorial1 in the library, it says to right click and change Classes for the subsystems (in Dymola). This feature is not available for OMEdit. How do you go about this in OMEdit and is there a better tutorial on vehicle, and especially drive train modelling with OpenModelica and OMEdit?

Re: Change Class "replaceable"

I’m afraid that you are entering in a difficult task, due to OpenModelica, but also to Modelica characteristics.
Regarding OpenModelica, there is no popup menu from which to select compatible models. It is a feature highly expected and that I think will be provided in the next version. I have never worked with Dymola but I think this is not the case there. In OMEdit you need to manually edit your model and change the desired part. For example if you want to change the engine to VehicleInterfaces.Engines.MinimalEngine you could write a new model redeclaring the engine like:

model VehicleTest
  extends VehicleInterfaces.Examples.ConventionalManualVehicle (redeclare VehicleInterfaces.Engines.MinimalEngine engine);
end VehicleTest;