Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

Questions on an introductory DAEs system

Questions on an introductory DAEs system

Dear all,

I am learning Modelica in order to model DAEs systems and to do this I am using the book of Prof. Fritzon.
I am a student and DAE and Modelica are completely new for me so, maybe, you may find my questions mindless but I really need to understand better these basic concepts. So, I want to thank in advance the one who will answer to my questions.
In particular, I am modeling the following example of a Pendulum.

model Pendolum
parameter Real m=1, g=9.81, L=0.5;
Real F;
Real x(start=0.5), y(start=0);
Real vx, vy;

equation

m*der(vx)=-(x/L)*F;
m*der(vy)=-(y/L)*F-m*g;
der(x)=vx;
der(y)=vy;
x^2+y^2=L^2;

end Pendolum;

There are some points that are not very clear to me. I listed them below:

1) Why the following warning message appears? What does it means? Is there a way to remove it?

[1] 19:28:43 Translation Warning
Assuming fixed start value for the following 2 variables:
         $STATESET1.x:VARIABLE(start = /*Real*/($STATESET1.A[1]) * $START.vy + /*Real*/($STATESET1.A[2]) * $START.vx fixed = false )  type: Real
         $STATESET2.x:VARIABLE(start = /*Real*/($STATESET2.A[1]) * $START.x + /*Real*/($STATESET2.A[2]) * $START.y fixed = false )  type: Real

2) As the system is described by 2nd order diff eqs. and the state variables are: x(t), y(t) and F(t), what I expect is to have also initial conditions on the first derivatives (i.e. velocities of x and y) and on F but in the example I just have initial conditions just on the position (x(t) and y(t). Is this my thought wrong? If yes, why?

3) Do you have any materials (maybe with some examples) to suggest me in order to better understand how DAEs work?