Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

desperately looking for help on stream connectors

desperately looking for help on stream connectors

Hello,

I am very new to OpenModelica. I would like to use the Fluid or Buildings libraries, but found that they use SI units, and that they are hugely convoluted. I would prefer to work in IP units and have a few very simple and manageable components.

In an effort to better learn Modelica, I decided to compile a "micro"-Fluid library with IP units, because all I am interested in for now is pressure, temperature and flow rate of water through a piping network with some heated/cooled pipes. So I created Pump, Splitter, Pipe and Mixer models and seem to have been successful in incorporating them into an overall Network model WITHOUT temperature, where a pump feeds the splitter, the splitter feeds two parallel pipes, the pipes feed a mixer and the mixer feeds back to the pump. I also have a Reference at the pump inlet to set the pressure.

The next step is to take the simple Pressure and Volume Flow Rate (flow) connector to a Pressure, Volume Flow Rate (flow) and Temperature (stream) connector, and to incorporate heating/cooling, i.e. a Network model WITH temperature. Unfortunately, this is where it all falls apart. For the past two weeks, I have been souring the Internet for anything to do with Modelica and Stream, but what I found is more confusing and seemingly contradicting than enlightening. I seem to be particularly confused about splitters and mixers and how to use inStream() with these models, and possibly about how to use inStream() at the overall Network model level. Whatever I have tried so far has failed, usually with a"singularity" problem.