Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

Cumulative of time variables

Cumulative of time variables

I am new to modelica so apologies if this is a simple request. I am manipulating a series of y values derived from a time table and need to plot the value of their total as well as the values themselves. How can I create this cumulative value that corresponds to the time interval?

For example if I have a series of values 1,3,5,2,7 how can I generate their cumulative values 1,4,9,11,18?

Many thanks

Re: Cumulative of time variables

Remember that variables in Modelica are generally continuous.  So, they have to have a value between the points you listed below.  One way to do something similar to what you want is to just add an integrator.  But, then the range between the values will matter to the output.  So, make sure that it does what you want.  If you just use timeTable it uses a linear fit between each point.  An option is then to sample every time period of interest, for example every second, and then integrate that value.  Here is a quick example with those two different methods:

Code:

model IntegrateTest

Modelica.Blocks.Continuous.Integrator integrator1 annotation(Placement(visible = true, transformation(origin = {4, 24}, extent = {{-10, -10}, {10, 10}}, rotation = 0)));
  Modelica.Blocks.Sources.TimeTable timeTable1(table = [0, 1; 1, 3; 2, 5; 3, 2; 4, 7; 5, 0; 8, 0]) annotation(Placement(visible = true, transformation(origin = {-46, 26}, extent = {{-10, -10}, {10, 10}}, rotation = 0)));
  Modelica.Blocks.Discrete.Sampler sampler1(samplePeriod = 1) annotation(Placement(visible = true, transformation(origin = {-18, -18}, extent = {{-10, -10}, {10, 10}}, rotation = 0)));