Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

Standalone Simulation on base of OpenModelica

Standalone Simulation on base of OpenModelica

Hey,
First of all I'm still pretty new in simulating with Modelica / OpenModelica, but I allready made some new models that can be simulated properly. I'm also not very into programming at this point, but might find some help if I have the basic strategy.
Now I would like to simulate my model in a very easy way, so even my mom could use the problem current/wink
My plan is to make a small executable with a GUI (where you can set some options/parameters) that reads the compiled code of the model and then simulates it.
As it seems to me, these compiled models still need another executable which contains the solver. Is that right?
My question would be, where can I find the programm part, that "solves" my equation and how would it be possible to interact with it?
I hope I made clear what my problem is since I'm still not that into programming.
Thanks very much in advance!
Stefan

Edited by: SKD - Apr-10-13 16:00:42

Re: Standalone Simulation on base of OpenModelica

If you call the buildModel() command, it returns the path of the executable. If you run Linux, you can run that without changing any environment variables.
For a model M, there is also a file M_input.xml which is read before initialisation. You can write a GUI that read the parameters from that file, allows users to make changes, and then sends an override file on the command-line when calling the executable.

Ok thanks for the quick answer so far.
So now as my next step I tried a bit with OMShell and got the model built and simulated. However I can't get the results plotted.
Ok, so this is my model (testdatei.mo):

model test
  Real x;
  Real y;
equation
  x = 1;
  y = x;