Archived OpenModelica forums. Posting is disabled.

Alternative forums include GitHub discussions or StackOverflow (make sure to read the Stack Overflow rules; you need to have well-formed questions)

Forgot password? | Forgot username? | Register

OpenModelica Basics

OpenModelica Basics

Hello,

I am new to the Modelica Language and I recently started using OpenModelica (I'm using the OpenModelica 1.9.1+dev (r18473) (RML version)). I have gone through the examples present in the OpMod Connection Editor. I am having a difficult time in understanding how the systems are created (apart from the Pendulum problems). I have tried searching in the web for help but wasnt able to find any. The ones I found were mostly related on the coding part. Is there any documentation available on how to create systems, i.e the basics of creating systems/applying parameters/connecting the elements?

Also, can anyone tell me how to see the animations in the same version?

Re: OpenModelica Basics

Hi,

perhaps you could start with a tutorial by Peter Fritzson:
https://www.openmodelica.org/images/doc … itzson.pdf

For visualization follow the steps in: https://build.openmodelica.org/Document … ica3D.html
If you use OMEdit, simply add ModelicaServices of version "3.2.1 modelica3d" to the list of libraries to load on startup.

so long.
Willi

Hi,

Thanks for suggesting the tutorial. I have already gone through it and it does not give a proper idea on how to create systems. What I mean to say is it tells how to create 2-3 systems. I need to understand how to create systems in a generic way.

About the animations part. I did not understand what the link said. (I work on a windows system). I have installed OpenModelica 1.9.1+dev (r18473) (RML version). A nightly build. It has only Connection editor, Notebook, Optimization Editor and the shell. Is that all that is required or should i install anything else as well?